Tyrepower GET THE POWER banner ad

V8 SuperUtes season gets underway at Bathurst SuperFest

A 20-car field will line up for the opening round of the Tyrepower V8 SuperUte Series as new cars, new names and series stalwarts head to Mount Panorama for the Thrifty Bathurst 500 this weekend (February 23-25).

Reigning champion Aaron Borg returns in the #1 Isuzu D-MAX but as part of the revamped Team Motion Racing outfit still run from the Sieders Racing stable. 2023 runner-up Adam Marjoram becomes Borg’s teammate, switching from the Triton to the D-Max; the very car raced by David Casey last year.


Marjoram’s 2023 Triton will be campaigned by newcomer Jayden Wanzek who steps up from Toyota 86. Sieders Racing stablemate David Sieders will run the same Mazda BT-50 as last year but under the Yuasa Batteries Racing banner, while former SuperUtes steerer Cameron Crick returns full-time to the series for SCTR (Southern Cross Truck Rentals) Racing driving a newly built Ford Ranger.

The Western Sydney Motorsport outfit will again field three Toyota HiLux V8 SuperUtes for Craig Woods, Cody Brewczynski, and team owner Craig Thompson who will sub for Ben Walsh this weekend who’s unable to race due to medical reasons. Walsh will be back for Round 2 at Darwin.

Series runner-up from Australian Formula Open, Ryan How, will jump from an F3 to make his debut in a V8 SuperUte  for Gtechniq Racing in the Ford Ranger that was driven by Gerard Maggs last year. Maggs is currently sidelined due to medical reasons brought on by a crash from Adelaide last November. While son Jaiden Maggs will sit out the first two rounds due to prior commitments and the impending birth of his first child, but the Sydneysider will return for Round 3 at Sydney Motorsport Park.

Series regulars Ryal Harris, Jimmy Vernon, George Gutierrez, Ellex Best and Holly Espray are among the long list of those returning for the 2024 season Track action starts on Friday February 23 for Practice and Qualifying, before four races will be run across Saturday and Sunday.

Saturday’s races will be broadcast on FoxSports and Kayo, while Sunday’s track action will additionally be part of the Seven broadcast.

#1 Aaron Borg, Team Motion Racing (Isuzu D-MAX)
#3 Daivd Sieders, Yuasa Batteries Racing (Mazda BT-50)
#7 Cameron Crick, SCTR Racing (Ford Ranger)
#9 Amar Sharma, Vast Motorsport (Mazda BT-50)
#15 Adam Marjoram, Team Motion Racing (Isuzu D-MAX)
#18 Cody Brewczynski, Phoenix Lining Services / WSM (Toyota HiLux)
#19 George Gutierrez, Plenti Racing (Holden Colorado)
#50 Jimmy Vernon, Hunter Pacific Ceiling Fans (Mitsubishi Triton)
#55 Michael Sherwell, Nova Air and Electrical (Mitsubishi Triton)
#58 Ryal Harris, EFS 4×4 Accessories / Super Butcher(Ford Ranger)
#64 Craig Woods, Western Sydney Motorsport (Toyota HiLux)
#72 Craig Thomspon, Western Sydney Motorsport (Toyota HiLux)
#76 Ellexandra Best, Best Leisure Industries (Mazda BT-50)
#88 Jason Norris, Auto Masters Racing (Toyota HiLux)
#89 Richard Mork, City Rural Photography (Toyota HiLux)
#90 Jayden Wanzek, Sieders Racing Team (Mitubishi Triton)
#125 Ryan How, Gtechniq Racing (Ford Ranger)
#333 Rossi Johnson, Plenti Racing (Holden Colorado)
#777 Holly Espray, Holly Espray Racing(Isuzu D-MAX)
#805 Jensen Engelhardt, Jensen Engelhardt Racing (Toyota HiLux)

Share this post