Tyrepower GET THE POWER banner ad

2022 champion crowned as series winners are celebrated on the Gold Coast 

The Haltech V8 SuperUte Series has officially crowned its 2022 champion and awarded other series winners at the end-of-year celebrations held at Fat Freddy’s Beach Bar and Diner in Broadbeach, Queensland.

ACDelco Sieders Racing Team’s Aaron Borg (#4 Colorado) was presented with his 2022 Champion trophy, after a season that saw him claim seven race wins, 16 race podiums, two pole positions and one round victory at Bathurst.

“Pretty proud to win the championship and get the #1 on the car,” said Borg. “I can’t thank the Sieders Racing Team crew enough and hopefully this title is reward to pay them back for all their hard work this year. It means a lot to myself and my family. Dad comes to every race, drives the trucks as well; we’ve been doing this since I was really young. We’ve won a lot together, lost a lot together, so it’s pretty cool to get this championship with dad here.”

Western Sydney Motorsport teammates Craig Woods (#64 Hilux) and Ben Walsh (#8 Hilux) finished second and third outright for 2022 respectively. Woods ended the season with three race winds, 10 race podiums, two pole positions and the round victory at Tasmania. While Walsh finished the year with a round victory at Perth, one race win and six race podiums.

The night also saw two additional drivers being recognised with awards. Craig Jenner Racing was given the 2022 Best Presented Team award for always representing his team, pit bay and SuperUte in immaculate order throughout the season. Craig Jenner (#50 BT-50) unfortunately withdrew from the final round due to ill health.

While Bendix Racing’s David Casey claimed the new 2022 Sportsmanship Award in his rookie year. The award was introduced as a means of recognising a driver who shows respect among their peers, officials and organisers, shows strength of character despite winning or losing, represents themselves and their team positively, and behaves above expectation irrespective of who they interact with or compete against. 

The 2022 saw six different round winners including Borg, Woods, Walsh, Adam Marjoram (#45 Triton), Ryal Harris (#1 Ranger) and David Sieders (#3 Triton) who scored the most amount of race wins of any driver this season with seven.

More than 120 people including teams, crew, organisers, family and friends gathered at Fat Freddy’s Beach Bar and Diner in Broadbeach as part of the organisation’s partnership with the series for the final two rounds. Fat Freddy’s Lager not only is on tap at the diner and select Queensland establishments, but is soon to be available in bottle stores.

“A huge congrats to Borgy for winning the championship, it’s thoroughly deserved,” said category manager Luke Sieders. “It’s been one of our most competitive seasons, the category is constantly growing and improving and next year we’re on track for a record year with even more cars to come. The SuperUtes paddock is like a huge motorsport family and we always make sure we support our own competitors and their businesses as much as we can. It made perfect sense to hold our awards night at Ben Walsh’s diner and we’re very proud of all the hard work everyone has put into making the season a success.”

Plans for 2023 including a new six-event calendar will be announced in due course. 

Share this post